Presidency | Ministry of Foreign Affairs | United Nations

Español | English

October 2012


October 5, 2012

Colombia established diplomatic relations with Tajikistan

New York, October 5, 2012. On October 5, at the Permanent Mission of Colombia to the United Nations, the Permanent Representative of Colombia to the UN, Ambassador Nestor Osorio and his counterpart, Sirodjidin M. Aslov signed the joint statement to establish diplomatic relations between the two countries. This act opens opportunities for cooperation and strengthen direct ties between the parties. Tajikistan is a country located in Central Asia, bordering Afghanistan, China, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan. For much of the twentieth century the country was part of the USSR with the name of the Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic until it gained its independence on December 25, 1991. It is part of the UN since 2002 and seeks to strengthen its international presence and establish new friendships within this organization.